Say hello to our Scientific Advisory Board

Hello Bio is delighted to work with some of the world’s most eminent scientists. Together, we are striving to bring you the best tools for receptor and signaling research – from novel cutting edge tools, to affordable every day products. 

Professor Graham Collingridge, CBEProfessor Graham Collingridge, CBE, FRS

  • BSc(Bristol), PhD(Lond), FRS
  • Director of the Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases (CRND)
  • Krembil Family Chair in Alzheimer’s Research
  • Professor of Physiology, Department of Physiology, University of Toronto 
  • Senior Investigator, Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada
  • Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience in Anatomy, University of Bristol, UK
  • Former Presidents, The British Neuroscience Association and The Canadian Physiological Society
  • Winner of The Brain Prize, 2016
  • Awarded a CBE in 2019

Graham Collingridge is a member of the Faculty of 1000 and a former president of the British Neuroscience Association. He is a co winner of The Brain Prize 2016 - regarded as the equivalent of the Nobel Prize for neuroscientists. This award recognises one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by an outstanding contribution to neuroscience. He studies synaptic plasticity, in particular long-term potentiation and long-term depression, in health and disease models. Graham was awarded a CBE in the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours, which recognises the outstanding achievements of extraordinary people across the UK. Find out more about Graham in the interview - Inside the brain of The Brain Prize winner and read about the Neurochemical Research special edition, published in his honor.

I made the discovery that the NMDA receptor is the trigger for the induction of LTP using D-AP5 synthesized by Jeff Watkins, the discoverer of the NMDA receptor. At that time it was not commercially available but Jeff kindly gave me a sample of his new antagonist. I now obtain my D-AP5 from Hello Bio. I love their products and ethos and that is why I accepted a position on their Scientific Advisory Board.

Professor Graham Collingridge CBE, winner of The Brain Prize, 2016


Professor Kei Cho

  • Chair of Neuroscience, University of Bristol
  • Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award Holder
  • Visiting Professor, Imperial College London

Kei Cho is currently Chair and Professor of Neuroscience in the School of Clinical Sciences at the University of Bristol. He is a Wolfson Research Merit Award of the Royal Society London Holder (2011) and was Vice-President of the London Health Forum 2013. Kei’s research areas include synaptic plasticity, and Alzheimer’s Disease.

I am very excited to be contributing to Hello Bio - I see them as an innovative and friendly company, with a genuine commitment to helping scientistsProfessor Kei Cho

Professor David Jane

Professor David Jane

  • BA(Cantab), PhD(Salf), MRSC
  • Professor of Chemical Pharmacology (University of Bristol)

David Jane is currently Professor of Chemical Pharmacology at the University of Bristol. His research involves developing pharmacological tools for AMPA, Kainate, NMDA and mGlu receptors. David’s work includes ligand and structure based design of novel glutamate receptor agonists, antagonists and allosteric modulators, chemical synthesis of target compounds and pharmacological characterisation of novel compounds.

These guys bring something different to the life science community – and I am really glad I am a part of it. Trying to make science more affordable can only be a good thing! Professor David Jane


Professor Elek Molnár

Professor Elek Molnar

  • MD, PhD

Elek Molnár is currently Professor of Neuroscience at Bristol University. His research focuses on developmental and activity dependent changes in the molecular organisation and function of glutamate and GABA receptors in the central nervous system.

I am looking forward to contributing my expertise, to ensure that Hello Bio continues to grow  - which should help to stimulate more research in areas such as neuroscience, signaling, stem cells, and epigenetics Professor Elek Molnár


Professor Min Zhuo

Professor Min Zhuo

  • BSc (USTC), PhD (Iowa), FSRC
  • Chair of Physiology at the University of Toronto
  • Michael Smith Chair in Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Canada Research Chair in Pain and Cognition
  • Director of Center for Neuron and Brain Disease, Frontier Institute for Science and technology, Xian Jiaotong University
  • President of Association for Neuron and Brain Disease
  • Thousand Scholar China oversea

Min Zhuo is currently Chair of Physiology at the University of Toronto in Canada. He is also the Michael Smith Chair in Neuroscience and Mental Health as well as the Canada Research Chair in Pain and Cognition and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Min’s research interests include synaptic plasticity, pain and emotion, and fragile X syndrome.

I am pleased to be a member of the Hello Bio team. I want to help to bring the best research tools and reagents to scientists, especially those in the Asia region Professor Min Zhuo